SUMMER!! / (bummer)

We have had an exciting last few weeks of school- Field Day, end of school parties, awards assemblies, and less homework. I’ve been counting down the days, and today we made it!  We got a bit excited and didn’t set an alarm last night. Thankfully, it was pyjama day, and luckily, Scarlett woke up 12 minutes before we needed to be out the door, so we still made it on time.  Zero tardies for this year. Celebrate!

Year 1 Field Day-3

Year 1 Field Day-4

Field Day, 2017

Today was perfect. I was so happy all day that Scarlett gets to be home during her good hours. I hate how school gets her best. I get the sluggish mornings and the tired evenings.  So when I picked her up today, I felt like Olaf in the carpool line. I rolled down the windows and started shouting excitedly,

“We are driving to SUMMER! SUMMER here we come!”

Remember that feeling of the last day of school? I felt it rush back to me just like when I was 10. I’m footloose and fancy free.  I can stop the treadmill of packing lunches, homework, and carpool lines. I congratulated myself on transitioning Scarlett from English to American schools, moving houses, and making it to the finish line of first grade.

Wahoo, Summer! More lazy days by the pool.

Year 1 Field Day-10Year 1 Field Day-12

We got home, and all three kids played absolutely beautifully together upstairs while I cooked for our first dinner guests at our new house. My kids made blanket castles upstairs, breaking out in roars of laughter. I felt the warm glow of nostalgia remembering my three brothers as a child.  I smiled. THIS is what being a kid is all about. But reality came crashing down. It sounded like glass shattering.

Because it was.

Meredith dropped my cup of ice water all over the floor. Meanwhile Evan and Scarlett started having an altercation over Evan smelling her smelly marker. After sorting that out, Evan tripped down the stairs, landing head first saved by his wrists. Please don’t let that be distal radius fracture, I prayed. But first, I have to shush him up as quickly as I can so my husband’s conference call stays professional.  Keeping the home office a good working environment is a juggling act I’m pretty good at with two kids. Next month, I’m going to have FOUR  kids at home arguing, playing, getting hurt and breaking things. I just picture myself as homegirl from the BBC. Oh my.

Screen Shot 2017-06-02 at 22.51.49

Fifteen minutes later, Evan’s recovered,  the kitchen floor was swept and mopped, the marker is returned safely to it’s secret location. They are back happily playing. Ahh- summer bliss again. Evan’s scream interrupts my solitutde.

“SHE DRANK THE SOAP! MEREDITH DRANK THE SOAP!”

I look at the packaging: If swallowed, seek medical attention immediately. Pulling out my phone to call poison control, I seek council from my most reliable, trusted advisor first. Trying to remain calm, I ask nervously, “How many days until August 21st?”

Siri answered back, “It is eighty days until August 21st.”

80 days until school starts again.

Oh Summer.

Wish me luck, friends.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a thought.

