Bad Moms? More Horrific than Hysterical.

Dear Grandma,  Please don’t read this post. 


Wanker.    Dick.    Cock.

If you find that funny, you will like Bad Moms.  I just saved everyone else $12. Male genitalia euphemisms dominate the entire plot of the movie Bad Moms.

Don’t see it. It was produced by people who fantasise about MILFs making out with each other. I was totally hoping for a reality based laugh at the hysterical challenges that come with being a mother. Instead, there was no depth to the humour, just cheap jokes that way over exaggerate stereotypes: mothers as competitive, spiteful, perfectionist, bitches. I laughed at a few clever comments, but beyond that, it was just disgusting. The more I think about it, the more angry I get. I actually want an apology from the producer.

The main character’s husband has an affair. His wife’s answer to her family breaking down and his complete betrayal? Get laid by any guy she can get . . .  as if that takes talent.

Girls: Guys will stick it in any warm place they can find.

Sex isn’t anything unless commitment and intimacy come first. Bad Moms glorified adultery, divorce, and promiscuity. The movie attempted two nice themes. This guy compliments the main character stating that anyone can raise kids with great grades, but actually raising good people is what matters.  I liked this idea, but two seconds later, the character is bedding the guy. There is a word for that, and it isn’t bad mom. Even prostitutes have the dignity to get paid.  This chick didn’t even get a nice dinner. Oh, but he did send a sweet text message. Awwwww

Women, when did our bodies and our sexuality become so cheap?

Where is the intimacy, affection, tenderness, communication, commitment? Where is the love? I’m sorry, no man gets in my vagina without laying down his life for it. People will find that statement shocking, but won’t mind paying to look at one during a movie.

Wake up! 

I’d rather be in a country where our bodies are so precious, only my eyes can be seen than to watch trash that promotes women as sex toys.

The French are okay with topless women on the beach, but send police out to penalise women who want to cover themselves up because they know their value. If I were a lesbian mother watching the film, I would have been outraged even more. The whole movie reduced all human relationship to a quick shag.

Last week I had guests over.  When the doorbell rang,  I threw all the toys scattered on the kitchen floor into the dryer. Two days later when I finally got around to folding that laundry, I blamed my three year old for putting toys, dishes, pencils and all sorts in the dryer. He denied this of course, because I did it- but had forgotten. That is a bad mom moment, but this alcoholic mom needs a social service referral, not a leading role as a heroine. In a glorified “Teen Mom” kind of world, what are we teaching girls about the most important responsibility you could have? What is more valuable in society than raising children?

I was hoping to feel encouraged, uplifted, and most of all to see myself and my friends in their mom jeans trying to get this thing right. I was hoping to giggle at dads with massive egos struggling to parent- sending kids into school with pyjama tops on and wonky pony tails, making cereal and toast for dinner two nights in a row, apologising to moms because they didn’t realise just how crazy life can be with children. I wanted to laugh and feel affirmed. I wanted to see kids loving us moms in spite of our many failures. Instead, women paid for the privilege of being disrespected.

Why am I so agitated?

My son might see Bad Moms and think it is ok to lie and cheat. Or even worse, your son will think of mothers as sexual objects without dignity, class, or passions- and then date my daughters. I want women to know how priceless their bodies are and what a gift sex was intended to be.

Would you give your car away to a man you just met?

Never. Then why are we giving away our bodies and souls? What has more value?

 

4 thoughts on “Bad Moms? More Horrific than Hysterical.

  1. PattylParker says:

    1. I love how you told your grandma to stop reading.
    2. Thank you for speaking against this sick genre of movies that is becoming more and more available (magic mike, shades of grey) and is demoralizing women and making sex a common activity instead of the beautiful act between a married couple. It is awful but, like you, I will continue to fight for my children and their purity and teach them the right way to treat a woman and to respect our bodies and pray that others will do the same.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cathy Hutchison says:

    I actually liked the movie. Here’s why…

    1. For sure…this movie deserved its R rating. Full nudity. More euphemisms for male genitalia than I’ve ever heard in an hour and a half before. The thing is that most of those euphemisms were used by Kathryn Hahn’s character “the slutty mom.” She played it up to the top and it was deliberate. I knew the “slutty mom” when my kids were in school. The movie made a caricature out of her and the language matched.

    2. I disagree that this movie was about sexuality at all. This movie was “Mean Girls” for moms. It illustrated in movie form the dynamics that play out for moms with school age children everywhere. John and I could tell it was resonating by the very obvious responses of the mostly female audience. This movie tapped into their lives and they laughed, groaned and cheered about it. For sure, the people were characterized. Every situation was over the top. (Except that, I used to work at a school and the reactions to the “hot widower” were dead on. Just saying. ). The ego-driven “emergency PTA” meetings complete with PowerPoint, the shock when Mila Kunis’ character says “no”, the just doing what you are supposed to do when no one appreciates it until one day you just go on strike (been there/done it). John and I talked about this movie a lot afterwards and how real it was. We also felt like while it characterized two guys as bad husbands, that it didn’t bash all men.

    3. The message of the movie was that it is okay to not be the Pinterest mom. That loving your kids is enough. (As evidenced by “slutty mom’s” growth at the end of the film.) It was about the do-it-all model not being sustainable for women which quite frankly was a message I needed to hear when my kids were in school. I thought there was a lot of honesty in the movie, in between every #@*% and #@*%.

    So, clearly this movie tapped into different things for each of us, and I am keenly aware that you are living this chapter rather than having it be a “previous chapter” like it is for me. My guess is that you saw something in it that I didn’t. But I also wanted to share the opposite perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mommy2mummy says:

      I was so hoping that someone would give a thoughtful rebuttal, so the fact that my friend and mentor spent the time doing so was awesome. For all the little girls whose parents have divorced, single moms trying to fill an emptiness inside, couples with no hope for their marriages, women caught up in affairs, women without supportive spouses- exhausted and feeling alone, I see behind the masks of perfectionism and bravado and see so much pain.

      When counselling fails, communication breaks down, intimacy is gone and infidelity violates all trust, I meet these women and stand with them in their heartbreak, betrayal and darkness. I guess I find it hard to laugh because the characters in the show and the laughs in the audience remind me just how real these women are. I want to tell the world there is hope. I want to show each woman who relates to the characters her value, her worth, and her identity. I want to wrap each woman up, give her a cup of tea and a bar of chocolate, open up a Bible, and show her the light.

      Like

Leave a thought.

