Gratitude- the Antidote to a Bad Attitude

So my last post I talked about feeling like I was drowning. Sitting in church the next morning, this verse was plastered on the screen:

“Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.
They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion;
therefore I will wait for him.” Lamentations 3: 22

I rested in that. I felt new Sunday morning, relaxed and refreshed. There is something so healing about writing- whether it is a blog, an email to a friend, or a journal. Public or private, writing helps you process all the mental clutter and create something beautiful.

I have private journals, but it is amazing to write a post about feeling overwhelmed and having so many women say “Me too, friend!” So if you are one of those women who saw me in the trenches and said they were right next to me, thank you. It’s so good to be surrounded by women who are open.  I cannot imagine my grandma’s generation having that level of vulnerability, and I am so thankful ours does. I have great amazing friends- and readers that I’ve never had the privilege of meeting in person.

I went outside and hung my laundry on the line, hopefully for the last “mandatory” time. I’ve been without a tumble drier for over a year, and tomorrow, it should arrive (fingers crossed). Instead of the usual dread of laundry, this post-partum mom almost cried over the clean laundry. I decided to be thankful this morning as a way to combat the weighed down feeling. And today, it’s working.

I have clothes. There is sunshine to dry them. I have kids. They have clothes. They run, play, sing, color, and eat in these clothes.  My kids have food to eat. I’m so humbled by that. I think it’s the crisis in Syria. When I pray for Syria, I pray for the mamas. No food to give their kids, watching them go hungry, no shelter, no stability for their kiddos, and the violence. My kids were at the airshow in Shoreham a few weeks ago and witnessed the airplane crash that killed 11 people- something no mom would like their kids to see. But in comparison to the moms in Syria, I am just so completely fall-on-my-face thankful.

laundry2

Gratitude can beat out a bad attitude. And sleep. Definitely sleep.

Leave a thought.

